Skip to content
Tags

,

Installing CommandT on OS-X

August 7, 2012

So today I installed CommandT and I can’t wait to use it.

I use OS-X 10.7 and MacVim 7.3

The last time I tried installing CommandT it did not work for me, but this time it did, and so I wanted to document the steps

1. Download the vimball. I downloaded it from here.

2. Open the vimball in macvim.

3. Source the vimball

:so %

Which will install it to the runtime path. it can be found by

:echo &rtp

In my case it was installed to

~/.vim/ruby/command-t

4. In that directory, use the ruby version that your macvim is compiled against. This can be found out by doing a

:ruby puts RUBY_VERSION

in MacVim.

My MacVim was compiled against my system version of ruby and I use rvm. So I did a

$rvm use system

5. After correct version of ruby is chosen create makefile

$ruby extconf.rb

6. It seemed that my macvim was compiled for a i386 architecture, although I also coudl see a ‘-arch x86_64’ when I did a

$mvim --version

.

.

.

Compilation: gcc -c -I. .... -arch i386 -arch x86_64 ....

7. To be safe I did a

$ export ARCHFLAGS="-arch i386"

8. Compile

$make

Done!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

